When Does One “Grow Up?”

Happy Monday, all!

Sorry to have stepped away from the blogosphere for so long– 18 credits of class, work, and life hit me this semester. I ate turkey sandwiches for lunch on my walk to class, I spent a lot of time getting to know the janitorial staff in a few academic buildings, and I even tried to study on the treadmill (sadly, the treadmill won).

And as much as I thought welcoming in the summer would welcome in a nice break the reality has hit me:

Hello, Taylor! The real world is calling! Don’t you think you should have a second job? What about studying for the LSAT? You don’t want a mediocre score, do you? Finals may be over, but there’s no time for naps!

I picked up a job as a hostess at a little restaurant I’ve fallen in love with and wiped the dust off of my “Logic Games for Dummies.” I started spending my free time at the gym taking spin classes and getting reacquainted with free weights.

I’ve gotta tell you– being an adult is not all it’s cracked up to be.

Mom: if you want to help me come clean or show me how to actually cook the pork loin you sent with me when I moved in a year ago, it would be greatly appreciated.

Dad: if you want to come and make sure my oil is always changed and the trash is taken out, I wouldn’t mind that either.

I eat Ramen for dinner, I save my laundry for trips home, I put gas in my car at the very last possible second, I don’t pay any of my own bills, I get up fifteen minutes before I’m supposed to leave for work, and I’m just curious: when is this growing up thing supposed to happen to me? Did I miss my stop on the grown-up train?

3 thoughts on “When Does One “Grow Up?”

  1. … an addendum: never, never, all at once, but then again not really. Just last night, my mama came and helped me clean my house and take care of the plants I am acting like I know how to grow. I still get up 15 minutes before I have to leave for work all the time. I still don’t feel like a grown up. So I’ll say it’s fluid. You’ll never wake up one day and realize you’ve grown up. Most of us are just faking it through the day until we’ve faked it long enough to look like experts.

  2. Thanks, Mrs. Kershaw! I’m glad to hear it. I’ve grown more confident in my ability to fake it as I take more and more philosophy classes I’m sure I’ll never fully understand.

    Also crossing my fingers in hopes that my mom never stops wanting to clean for me.

    Say hello to your beautiful family and the OHS staff for me- I miss that place a little more everyday.

Leave a comment